Keynote Speakers

Dr. Damir Novosel, Quanta Technology

Damir is president and founder of Quanta Technology, a subsidiary of Quanta Services, a Fortune 500 company.  Previously, he was vice president of ABB Automation Products and president of KEMA T&D US. Dr. Novosel is also an adjunct professor of Electrical Engineering at North Carolina State University.

Dr. Novosel is elected to National Academy of Engineers in 2014. He served as IEEE Power and Energy Society President (2016-2017) and Vice President of Technical Activities (2011-2012). He has been active with IEEE Standards, including membership of the IEEE Standards Board and committees, as well as with various IEEE PES initiatives, including chairing the Fellows Committee and Power System Relaying sub-committee on System Protection. Damir is presently chairing Industry Technical Support Task Force organization responsible for IEEE cooperation with global regulatory agencies and corporate engagement. He is also a member of the CIGRE US National Committee and received the CIGRE Attwood Associate award. Damir has given numerous keynote presentations and has been involved with industry panels and events, including recent testimony to the US FERC Commissioners on “Managing the New Grid”.

Dr. Novosel has led development and implementation of pioneering concepts, methods, and products that improved resilience, reliability, and efficiency of electrical power systems. He holds 17 US and international patents and published over 140 articles in Transactions, Journals and Proceedings, receiving IEEE PES 2011 and 2013 Prize Paper Awards, and CIGRE distinguished paper award in 2006. He contributed to 5 books.

Damir Novosel, IEEE Fellow since 2003, holds PhD and MSc, BSc degrees in electrical engineering from Mississippi State University (where he was a Fulbright scholar), the University of Zagreb, Croatia, and the University of Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina, respectively. Dr. Novosel was selected Mississippi State University Distinguished Engineering Fellow.

Dr. Shay Bahramirad, ComEd

More information will be published soon.

Dr. Gert Rietveld, Dutch Metrology Institute

More information will be published soon.