Success Factors for Sustainable Electrical Energy Delivery and Decarbonization

Resilient, reliable and efficient electrical grid operation is critical to society. The electrical power and energy industry is changing rapidly to meet the demands of the society and address decarbonization needs. New technologies offer significant opportunities for realizing a resilient and sustainable energy future.
Identifying the best strategies to ensure reliable, resilient, and cost-effective delivery of electrical power energy is needed to set a path to decarbonization to address climate change. Those strategies include integration of renewable energy resources and electrical storage and together with electrification of transportation and innovative approaches to building climate control are critical ingredients of any energy future. It is critical to ensure that inverter-based resources like solar PV and battery energy storage systems have the capability to provide essential reliability services to the electric power system.
The grid also continues to face evolving challenges, such as cyber and physical attacks, major weather events (e.g., catastrophic wildfires, hurricanes, significant rain/snow incidents) and aging infrastructure. We have the opportunity to make it better than it was before by taking more aggressive actions to adapt, including grid infrastructure hardening and improved grid and equipment monitoring. What we need now is a renewed understanding of the value of not just electricity, but the grid that enables it, and recognize the contributions of renewable energy resources, energy storage, and electrification in achieving environmental, resilience, reliability, and safety targets.
We are at a crossroads in making business and technical decisions that will allow us to optimally and cost-effectively manage the grid. This presentation will discuss success factors for sustainable electrical energy delivery in the context of industry trends and transformation drivers and opportunities for grid modernization with technologies for the changing nature of electricity delivery and decarbonization.


Dr. Damir Novosel
President, Quanta Technology LLC

Damir is president and founder of Quanta Technology, a subsidiary of Quanta Services, a Fortune 500 company.  Previously, he was vice president of ABB Automation Products and president of KEMA T&D US. Dr. Novosel is also an adjunct professor of Electrical Engineering at North Carolina State University.

Dr. Novosel is elected to National Academy of Engineers in 2014. He served as IEEE Power and Energy Society President (2016-2017) and Vice President of Technical Activities (2011-2012). He has been active with IEEE Standards, including membership of the IEEE Standards Board and committees, as well as with various IEEE PES initiatives, including chairing the Fellows Committee and Power System Relaying sub-committee on System Protection. Damir is presently chairing Industry Technical Support Task Force organization responsible for IEEE cooperation with global regulatory agencies and corporate engagement. He is also a member of the CIGRE US National Committee and received the CIGRE Attwood Associate award. Damir has given numerous keynote presentations and has been involved with industry panels and events, including recent testimony to the US FERC Commissioners on “Managing the New Grid”.

Dr. Novosel has led development and implementation of pioneering concepts, methods, and products that improved resilience, reliability, and efficiency of electrical power systems. He holds 17 US and international patents and published over 140 articles in Transactions, Journals and Proceedings, receiving IEEE PES 2011 and 2013 Prize Paper Awards, and CIGRE distinguished paper award in 2006. He contributed to 5 books.

Damir Novosel, IEEE Fellow since 2003, holds PhD and MSc, BSc degrees in electrical engineering from Mississippi State University (where he was a Fulbright scholar), the University of Zagreb, Croatia, and the University of Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina, respectively. Dr. Novosel was selected Mississippi State University Distinguished Engineering Fellow.